Middlesex Records

Middlesex ĝis 1881.svg

Parishes and Registration Districts

Throughout the years there have been a number of boundary changes to London and the surrounding counties (Middlesex, Surrey and Kent). Prior to 1889, 'London' consisted essentially of the City of London (the small area within the old city wall). Other parishes were either in Middlesex (north of the Thames) or Surrey or Kent (south of the Thames). However, for census purposes, from 1871 onwards  the Registrar-General grouped together the census returns from those parts of Middlesex, Kent, and Surrey which formed the "metropolitan" area commonly called London as a separate "census county", which later became the County of London when it was created in 1889. For further details of the boundary changes see the note on Boundary Changes for London and Surrounding Counties. In view of these boundary changes, readers are advised to consult the pages for London, if the Middlesex records below do not include the information sought.

The parishes included in the Parish Records below for Middlesex are those corresponding to the old (pre-1889) county boundaries. The Census Records are grouped, as far as possible, according to the definitions of the Registrar-General. So the 1841, 1851 and 1861 census collections for Middlesex include all of metropolitan London north of the Thames, including the City of London, whereas those for 1871-1911 include only those areas outside metropolitan London.

Parish Registers

Census Records